Skip to content

A Sermon on the 10th Anniversary of the Attacks of 9/11

September 11, 2011

The scene is etched in our minds, perhaps even with the CNN ticker tape running along the bottom.  A slow motion shot of a commercial airplane approaching and then slamming into one of the World Trade Center buildings.  As I stood in Shorty’s Coffee Shop on the campus of Wake Forest, my Chinese History books weighing down my backpack, I thought they were showing a replay.  But then it slowly dawned on me when I heard the shocked reporters’ exclamations – it wasn’t a replay, it was a second plane hitting the second tower.

(Click below to continue reading.)

Sermon – Proper 19A, Trinitytide, September 11, 2011

Fr. Ryan+

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mike Fox permalink
    September 11, 2011 3:28 pm

    I was just about to e-mail you asking for a copy. Thanks for posting! As I said in Church today, this sermon inspired me to work for peace more than any single event in my 20 years as a Quaker. Maybe the Friends should start giving sermons! But they do a lot of good work, and I hope that St. George and Old Haverford Meeting can work together for peace in the future.

Leave a Reply

